Deal declares state of emergency ahead of Irma

cid:image001.png@01D0B987.FD7FA970 Acting on a recommendation from the state's Emergency Operations Command in anticipation of Hurricane Irma, Gov. Nathan Deal today issued a state of emergency for six coastal counties. 

This emergency declaration includes Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh Counties. 

“Ahead of Hurricane Irma, I’ve issued an executive order prohibiting price gouging and waiving rules and regulations for motor vehicles transporting supplies, equipment, personnel, goods and services associated with disaster assistance and relief,” said Deal. "This state of emergency also ensures aid for the six counties potentially impacted by this catastrophic storm. We will continue monitoring Hurricane Irma’s path in the days ahead and coordinating with our federal, state and local partners. I urge Georgians in the affected counties to remain vigilant and be prepared." 

To read the executive order, see attached or click here. For more information on hurricane preparedness, visit the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency websitehere.

Laura Anderson

Laura Anderson

Want to know more about Laura Anderson? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on WTKS! Read more


Content Goes Here